Today, people are buying more consumer goods like jewelry and household appliances. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Large swaths of people purchase many additional items like luxury goods and devices for a home. The advantages and disadvantages of consuming leisure goods will be demonstrated in the essay. Firstly, I will discuss the beneficial outcomes of buying products and secondly, I will share the problematic aspects of this question. To begin with, consumers can feel pleasure when they buy a new item either for themselves or as a gift for someone. In other words, purchasing something new can help alleviate stress and mental ill-health. To illustrate this, many people go shopping in a foul mood to ease their emotional pain. Furthermore, this trend can help in economic growth. Companies, which sell those products, would provide jobs, pay more taxes to the budget of the country and stimulate local factories. On the other hand, humans can be tempted by devices, which cost is unaffordable for them. As a result, the additional goods could be bought by borrowing through some kind of credit or loan product probably charging a high level of interest. For example, unmanageable shopping can cause financial insolvency for many individuals. Additionally, this trend can influence climate change. Purchasing too many leisure items may increase environmental impact. For example, developed countries take action to reduce air pollution. In conclusion, there are many advantages and disadvantages of buying more consumer products than individuals really need. In my opinion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages and people should be more responsible for their consumer behaviour to reduce environmental impact and be able to repay their debts.