Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after. Other people disagree, however, saying that this depends on a child’s circumstances. Consider these opposing views, and give your own opinion.

Some individual suggests that having an animal as a companion is beneficial for younger kids to develop their skills. In contrast to that, others argue that it is a personal preference of each individual. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. As it appears, having a pet has many positive effects on children. Furthermore, many believe that kids develop the qualities such as kindness, compassion and love towards others when they have a pet animal. As well as, they tend to build a unique bond with their pets and this lead to a beautiful childhood memory that they can cherish as they grow old. As an example, differently-abled kids get enormous emotional support from their furry friends. In addition, they learn about the importance of sharing and caring where they enhance their soft skills, self-esteem, and cognitive development. Moreover, parents should monitor their kid's behaviour with pets and they should teach them that pets also have a personality and they should be gentle with them. However, caring for pets is not every kid's choice, because many do not prefer to have a pet and some of them are afraid of animals. For instance, there are kids who are afraid of dogs and some do not like cats. Furthermore, some pet keepers do not care for their pets properly and if we consider this from the pet's point of view, it can be considered animal cruelty. In conclusion, it appears that despite of keeping a pet based on the common view should not be encouraged and the choice should be made on personal preference and capabilities.