Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

How to choose a job has always been the major concern of many people. Nowadays, a lot of graduates have decided to work independently instead of going to a company or an organization. In this essay, I am going to examine the reasons behind the phenomenon and its disadvantages. There are several factors why job applicants are reluctant to work for others but themselves. Firstly, inspired by many self-made billionaires who are becoming household names thanks to the media and the internet, young people are eager to accumulate their own fortune. In addition, unlike a regular 9-to-5 job, being self-employed enables you to explore uncharted territory, hence making your life more challenging and meaningful. For instance, my friend gave up his teaching position to become a boss because he hated living a mediocre life. On the other hand, the demerits of being self-employed can not be ignored. It is not uncommon that some fresh graduates decide to start their own business only to avoid the fierce competition at the workplace. As a consequence, without sufficient experience in a large company and strong expertise in a certain field, their business usually ends up in failure. In fact, the cost could be too much to bear. For example, if a young adult is not financially ready for a venture and takes risks to invest, he might resort to high-interest loans which may lead to excessive pressure and stress. To conclude, many individuals prefer self-sufficient jobs mainly because of their pursuit of a career and the excitement as well as the challenging experience. However, the drawbacks are obvious as being your own boss can be risky and financially burdensome. In my view, we should choose a career path based on our personality and capability.