Some people believe that people who read books can develop more imagination and language skills than those who prefer to watch TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I partly agree. In my opinion, people reading books could have more benefits in language abilities than watching TV shows, but watching the shows and movies could have a better development in imagination. To support this idea, I am going to state an explanation in this essay. The reason why the readers could have better language skills is that the written words in books are more artistic than the TV shows which contain more spoken languages. For example, the novel, Three Days To See, written by Helen Keller uses a lot of beautiful rhetoric and literary sentences to make an immersive and pleasant reading atmosphere for readers. By reading a numerous number of literature, book lovers would have more vocabularies to express their thoughts than other people. However, literature or novels could be more helpful for language development, but not affect well in imagination. Comparing serial dramas or movies with sci-fi fiction, the fiction would develop the lesser of fancy ideas as there are no pictures. By contrast, sci-fi films could provide more creative thoughts to the audiences. For instance, in the Avatar movie, the contents of the film are all created by its director. The audiences could be amazed by these fantastically designed creatures, and these scenes could able to stimulate the viewers’ mind development to let them have a creative imagination. In conclusion, I believe both reading books and watching TV are good ways to obtain better language abilities or spark viewers’ minds but reading could be more helpful in the language field and the Tv series or films are more efficient to improve the imagination of the audience.