Some people think that the governments should subsidize fruit and vegetables to make healthy food cheaper. While others believe that governments should tax unhealthy food. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

Health plays a pivotal role in not only individuals’ lives but also the society. This is also the reason why the deterioration in the health condition of citizens has caused a great concern for the public in recent years. People have different views about the viable solutions for this problem. Some hold the opinion that whole food such as fruit and vegetables should be subsidized by the authorities, while it is widely believed by others that imposing taxes on junk food would be a better option.In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and explain the reasons for leaning towards the latter way. It is believed by some people that governments should give subsidies on fruit and vegetables to their residents in order to encourage their healthy eating habits. The primary reason behind this thinking is that there has been a higher price in healthy food than fast food recently, this may result in the tendency to opt for junk food as opposed to food that is beneficial for their health. For instance, the costs of broccoli or avocado which are rich in nutrition are relatively prohibitive, which makes people reluctant to buy them. In contrast, fried chicken is more reasonably priced for people to purchase, causing a higher consumption rate among people. As a result, if governments can subsidize to reduce the price of healthy food, the public is likely to consume it more frequently. Although this method seems to be true to a certain extent, I am not sure about the effectiveness of it. In my opinion, the choice of their eating habits depends much on their awareness, and if they are not health-conscious enough, the investment of governments to help them is just like a waste of money. Imposing high taxes on unhealthy products, however, can be a more efficient measure. This can be explained that if junk food is exorbitant to buy, it may make people think twice or make it impossible for low-income people to afford. For example, when buying a normal hamburger costs them 5 dollars, people will tend to take the price into consideration- whether to buy it with a too expensive price,which may affect their savings or cook at home,which is both a healthy and economical option. As a result, taxing on unhealthy food can reduce the number of consumers for these products, leading to a stronger society. In conclusion, even though receiving subsidies on vegetables and fruit from the authorities sounds reasonable, I still believe that taxation on junk food would be a better alternative in making people healthier and stronger.