Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Due to the rapid spread of violent scenes through films and TV programs at an alarming rate, the crime rate also increases these days. Some people argue that the best way to inhibit offences is to lock up the criminals, but others insist that it is necessary to educate criminals not to commit crimes again. The aim of this essay is to explore both points of view and elucidate my opinion in the following paragraphs. First of all, we need to apply strong punishments, not only the criminals should pay for their sins but also we can stop potential crimes. Unlike in old times, we no longer implement the principle such as "an eye for an eye", which means if I have killed someone, I should die in return. Rather than that, the modern penalty system depends on imprisonment since we even respect the rights of prisoners. Therefore, it is indisputably important that every convict should be secluded from society so that we can achieve social justice. On the other hand, it needs to be considered that imprisonment is not the best way to reform their misdemeanours. Some studies show that people learn new methods of crime in prisons as they live together. Consequently, the proposal to transform the way of edifying them rather than punishing them is convincing. For example, some advanced countries such as Denmark and Sweden are running so-called "living prisons" which means criminals could learn new life skills to prepare for themselves after discharge and it has been very successful as the crime rate has sharply decreased. To sum up, it is irrefutable that we have to pursue a crime -zero society, because we want to make our communities safe. However, if we put our efforts too much only to penalize them, we might make driving them again into the dark corner of crime. I personally support that government and specialists all together work together how to educate so that they can overcome the temptation of crime.