Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Over the past decade, smartphones have become one of the important things in children as they tend to spend many hours every day on them. This essay will explain the reason why children are now smartphone addicts. From my perspective, I argue that this trend is a negative development. To begin with, there are many reasons why children are addicted to their smartphones. Firstly, we are living in social media era, in which many young individuals use their mobile phones to check the news and update their daily lifestyles with their friends via various platforms such as Instagram stories, Tiktok video clips and Facebook statuses. Furthermore, some children are game addicts which can be played on their smartphones. However, I strongly believe that smartphones have negative impacts on young people if they use them more often or in the wrong ways. First of all, staying on mobile phones for a long time without a break could lead to many health problems. For example, children who always play games on mobile phones might have problems with eyesight. Moreover, there is many of inappropriate content on the internet such as porn and domestic violence. Thus, children should not stay on the screens for a long time and parents should involve in controlling the content on children's smartphones. To conclude, nowadays, young individuals tend to spend more hours on their mobile phones. There are many factors contributing to this trend such as social media and games. In my viewpoint, smartphone addiction in children is a big issue which it has many drawbacks. As a result, I suggest that parents should limit the time on screen and closely supervise when allowing their children to use smartphones.