Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate whether native people are not excited about museums and historical sites but those places do attract a myriad of tourists. From my perspective, there are some certain reasons for this situation and there are also many methods to help the local people be more interested in these places. First, it is obvious to note that tourists are easily attracted by museums and historical sites, but the locals are not. On the grounds that they are familiar with the culture, the tradition of the area where they are living, and they have known about the history of their region. For example, people who live in Hanoi will know clearly about the history of Hanoi through books or stories they are told. So they will spend their time discovering some historical places in other areas, such as an ethnology museum in Tay Nguyen of Vietnam. On the contrary, some foreign tourists and travellers know nothing about Hanoi so they decide to go there. Because that is the place where they have never come before, it makes them feel curious and want to learn about the cultural characteristics of that place. Hence, those are the justifications why museums and historical places do not attract the native people but appeal to the foreigner and tourists. Second, there are certain ways to make the local citizens be attracted to historical sites and museums. For instance, the authorities can organize a variety of exhibitions and special events at historical sites. Moreover, they can also invest more in artifacts of high historical value for museums. Therefore, I think that those tactics can help the locals pay attention to historical sites. To sum up, it is understandable that tourists are attracted to museums and historical sites. Additionally, there are many ways to get people interested in museums.