In some countries the average weight of people is increasing, and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In some nations, the mean weight of individuals is increasing and their health and fitness are going down. The main reason for these causes are fast foods and sedentary lifestyles, and the most viable solutions are making publicity campaigns and changing their routines. The principal problem related to the increase in weight is fast food. That is to say, fast foods contain a high number of calories because it has excessive fat and sugar. The second main problem associated with the increase in weight of the people is sedentary lifestyles. That is to say that most workers spend more time sitting in front of their computers doing their jobs. Similarly, people drive cars and ride buses while they are commuting to and from their work instead of opting for healthier options. For example, in Somalia, IT employers spend more time sitting in front of their computers during their work time and driving cars while they are commuting. To tackle this problem the government should launch a publicity campaign. This is because it could shed some light on this difficult situation and allow people to be more open and honest about it. Moreover, people should change their routines to reduce their weight. That is to say, people have to adopt a healthier mode of transportation such as walking and cycling while they are commuting. Similarly, people have to take stairs instead of using elevators while they are at work to burn some calories of fats. For instance, in the Netherlands, many workers ride bicycles to commute to and from their work offices and they are generally more physically fit than those who drive cars. In conclusion, fast foods and sedentary lifestyles are the major issues that can result in people increasing their weight, however, it can be addressed through educating people about the dangers of weight increase and changing their routines.