In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is crucial for future generations to be taught that achieving goals requires hard effort. While it is advantageous to instil that belief in the young, there are also a number of drawbacks. To begin with the positives, we are currently living in a competitive world. Therefore, young students have to exert their best to get high grades in order to have a well-paid job. That's why they have to be taught from a young age that although the world is harsh, they can attain their dreams if they try their best. Moreover, children need to know that anything is possible with the right plan and enough effort. For instance, young athletes who took part in the Olympics were one-day normal kids. However, with their parents’ encouragement, and strict training, they managed to succeed. As for the negatives, putting too much load on young people can lead them to rebel. This is because some parents always push their offspring to study hard so they can get good grades, for example, or to train as hard as they can in order to win a sports competition. This can lead some children to hate doing their homework or to make excuses to not attend their training. Another disadvantage is that some kids may feel stressed, or anxious. For example, if students have difficulty in education, they can feel that they are not good enough, and they cannot meet their parents’ expectations leading them to be depressed. In conclusion, although telling children to try hard enough is beneficial to prepare them for the real world, and raising their self-confidence, there are several demerits such as rebellion and anxiety.