Most societies v alue being competitive. How does competitiveness affect individuals? Is it a positive or negative quality?

In most countries, competitiveness is considered a valuable characteristic. I believe that the effect on individuals is tangible but it depends deeply on a person’s individual psychology whether or not it is a positive personality trait. The main consequence of a competitive spirit on individuals is to motivate. This holds true for a variety of situations across different stages of life. Starting at a young age, there is social reinforcement to do better than other students in academics and athletics from teachers, parents, and coaches. This pressure drives many children to excel and, in some cases, can haunt them into adulthood. There are many adults still striving to live up to the standards of others by overcoming peers in their career or private life. The above-mentioned points imply competitiveness is a negative but this is only the case in specific contexts. Individuals exploiting competition in order to stockpile esteem are fundamentally insecure and may have trouble reorienting to value their personal opinion of themselves. Conversely, being competitive is an overwhelming positive for those with a strong sense of self-esteem who are merely exercising and expressing their capacity. The ideal, healthy competitor is not particularly concerned with the outward signs of their success but simply enjoys competing and winning as an end in itself. In conclusion, most are pushed to compete by social forces but this can be beneficial as long as individuals are expressing their natural inclinations. It is ultimately the responsibility of each person to turn competition into a positive.