Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every aspect. Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Our era has witnessed the explosive development of technology, and with it, the development of computer games. Gaming has become more popular among children and has become a widely debated topic. While many people state that games have negative effects on kids, others argue that there are some merits in playing video games. In the following essay, I would discuss both views of the argument and give my opinion. First of all, playing video games could have some downside effects and could be bad for a child’s evolution. One of those is video games containing violent scenes, which are usually seen in adventure and action games. An example of this is God of war, a game set in Greek and Norse mythology where the players use their characters to fight with gods and demons. In this game, blood is not censored and there are several cut scenes where the character’s entrail is ripped out and so on. These violent scenes could badly affect kids, as they could potentially apply the actions contained in the games to real life. Spending too much time on computer games could also create a distraction from important things in the daily life of juveniles. Children who spend too much time playing games could be distracted from studying or have their sleeping schedule messed up, thus reducing their academic performance. On the other hand, gaming could benefit some aspects of the development process of a child, as it improves not only critical thinking skills but also teamwork skills. Critical thinking skills could be improved through playing strategy games. For instance, when playing Age of Empires, children have to judge the strength and weaknesses of the civilization they choose, and diverse unique strategies to counter enemies and protect their base from being raided. Gaming also provides a chance to improve teamwork skills, which is an extremely valuable skill in daily life, among children. Games such as League of Legends and DOTA could be perfect examples of this, as players have to cooperate with others to defeat enemy teams and destroy their nexus. Spending time playing games could also strengthen problem-solving skills, as it would teach children to be decisive in crucial moments and create concentration power among children. In conclusion, gaming has its own advantages and disadvantages, but the positive effects outweigh the negative effects, since playing video games helps juveniles improve their critical thinking, problem-solving and teamwork skills. But the amount of time that children spend on gaming should be limited and this process should be strictly supervised by parents to ensure kids stay away from violence and other negative effects.