Some people argued that history is of little or no use. Others believe that studying history give many benefits. Discuss those views and give your own opinion?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over history. While some claim that the history is inapplicable, the opposite makes a statement that learning history brings advantages. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, studying history is useless. However, when studying seismic shifts in a culture or country, it is important that people know what key events contributed to this and why they were so important. Moreover, it can lead to a daunting list of times, dates and people to learn. For example, Vietnam has a very long history with more than 1000 years of being invaded, so it is difficult for Vietnamese students to learn this subject by heart. Therefore, learning history is not necessary for students. While the importance of history to be useless is widely acknowledged, it is unfair if that of history ’s merits is ignored. Besides, history is where we learn about how great institutions are formed, and how they’ve contributed to where we are today. Additionally, for many of us, looking back at incredible fellow countrymen is a way of establishing our own identity. For instance, Uncle Ho and the Vietnamese people regained their independence and freedom after 1000 years of invasion, so everyone remembers Uncle Ho’ s gratitude and heroes. Thus, it is essential for students to study history. To sum up, although history is not useful, I think learning history brings a bunch of redeeming features.