Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People spend majority of time in their entire life and have different purposes to achieve. It used to be more common to work for an organization. However there is a gradual change in this traditional trend with a growing interests toward self-employment. I will examine some contributing factors and potential disadvantages that may be brought by this change. There is a certain change in the current view toward work among many workforce. Being employed in a company used to be regarded as safe since devoted commitment of workers to the organization allow them to gain prolong employment and promotional opportunities. As a result, many employees dersire to remain in the same company both for economic benefits and safety. However many workers are now threatened by an unexpected bankruptcy and lay in the current stagnant economic situation. For example, Amazon, one of the biggest company in US, announced layoff of a thousand of workers without previous notice. The truth that working in a company is no longer safe than before is a primary reason for their transition to self-employment. Regardless of the growing shift toward self-employment, workers need to be aware of potential risks that come with it. The biggest problem that troubles a business owner is a large amount of financial investment required to initiate a new business. In addition to such financial burden, there are a number of other difficulties that a company faces including hiring talented workers, their education, and advertisement to spread its reputation. Being overwhelmed by the loads of work and great responsibility, self-employed business often fails with only great loans left to pay back. In conclusion, while self-employment is a popular trend today, people should not ignore the fact that starting own buisness often comes with great risks of both finance and management.