More and more people today are drinking sugar based drinks. Why is this happening? What measures can be taken to reverse this trend?

The past 50 years have witnessed a dramatic hike in the consumption of sugary beverages. Whilst the main reason behind this is the influence of international marketing campaigns, I firmly believe that the panacea for this is the governmental intrusion. In this essay, the main leading causes along with some possible solutions will be further elaborated. On the one hand, despite the salient benefits of commercials, they sometimes impact negatively upon society. In other words, if beverages corporations bombarded consumers with advertisements telling them that they will only be powerful if they consumed such drinks, juniors will crave these drinks, and this will boost their desire to purchase more. An eminent example of this is the Pepsi advert which utilized the superstar Mo Salah in order to generate more revenues. Therefore, what can be said is that the destructive influence of influencers ought to be balanced. On the other hand, thanks to authorities, various awareness-raising campaigns could be conducted for the sake of having thorough insights into the malicious implications these drinks could have. This means that when youth get acquainted with health complications associated with the overconsumption of sugar-based drinks, they will become more cautious about it. An eminent example of this is the increasing rates of diabetes, cardiac problems and high blood pressure among teenagers. Hence, I would contend that governments ought to take proactive steps to save people's lives. In conclusion, this is a problem of such complexity that no solution is likely in the short term. However, the procedures outlined above would constitute a good first step.