It is currently believed that children's behavior and misconduct is due to the lack of strict discipline and punishment applied by parents. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A child's upbringing is deeply influenced by the atmosphere at their home. A number of people believe that negative traits displayed by a kid is usually because of lack of discipline enforced by their parents. However, I do not agree with this opinion as misconduct can also be eliminated by other methods like teaching moral values and ethics rather than punishment or strict rules. Firstly, not all mistakes require tough regulations. On the contrary, punishments instil fear in children. Kids get scared that they would be hurt physically or mentally if things go wrong. Not only the children start to hide things but also do not trust their parents with their feelings anymore. For example, if a student is scolded for scoring less marks, he starts editing or hiding their report cards in future. Therefore, instead of committing lesser mistakes, they are pushed deep into the pool of wrong-doings. Secondly, fewer boundaries between a parent and a child can strengthen their bond. The kid shares a deeper value of trust and can confide in their guardians for everything. Due to which, a safe room can be created for the child to learn new things and let go of unhealthy choices. For instance, when an infant is taught not to hit others because it can hurt someone instead of punishing them, it teaches them social values. In conclusion, I just want to say that penalising a person does not correct mistakes. Instead teaching them right from wrong can help totally remove the errors. Hence, guardians should focus more on creative ways to eliminate bad manners.