In marriages today, some argue that it is the responsibility of both spouses to earn a living for the family. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the centuries the world has undergone various changes in many spheres, affecting family life as well. Nowadays some people consider that both husband and wife have to contribute to the family budget. I partially agree with this idea and will support my point of view with the examples below. Equal rights is something that contemporary society strives to, so it is fair to earn daily bread together with a partner. Doing so everyone feels their significance: support of one another, facilitation of family development, as well as household one. If a couple works together, they can save more money for different needs, such as house renovation, a grand joint purchase or provide education for their children. On the other hand, spouses have different responsibilities as parents. Surely, it depends on the personal decision of each single family how to divide the chores, but commonly it is the woman, who gets up early in order to prepare breakfast, does the cleaning, cooking, laundry and children upbringing. So it might be exhausting for a woman to perform all these tasks by herself combining with work. In conclusion, to gain a living by both partners may be beneficial when there is a fair distribution of household responsibilities; otherwise, if everything rests on the wife’s shoulders, it becomes a daunting task.