Earlier technological developments were more beneficial and changed the lives of the ordinary people than recent technology ever will. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Through the introduction of the Industrial Revolution in our country in the early 1990s to a global economic superpower, we have come a long way. Once we were ruled by the Kings and built their forts and memorials after their death. All the people's money went for their bloody wars, royal weddings and artificial fortifications meanwhile neglecting the growth and technological prosperity of their countrymen. Thus when the British brought their steam machines and motors into our country for their profitability and mass production, this made many local businessmen awestruck and wanted their hands into these technologies. Hence came the Tatas, Birlas and Wadias families into the picture of the business and thus came enlightenment to mass scale and focus on larger profitability. Meanwhile, Mumbai was the industrial capital and also came with many technological institutes like VJTI and ICT etc. to produce educated engineers and the government emphasized research and development. These institutes were funded by their alumnus managing large-scale factories and government grants were also given to facilitate research. Now, Management institutes in Mumbai like IITs and IIFTs are giving solutions to many complex financial, trade or international relations problems thus receiving grants. Development is a continuous process, one might argue that earlier developments were more life-altering than recent ones. Meanwhile, if we closely study our history, who might have thought that with a single cotton bud? Now we can possibly know our entire genealogy and past diseases through a single application inside a cell phone we use today. Hence, it is unfair to say without studying our history, earlier technological developments were more beneficial and changed the lives of ordinary people than recent technology ever will.