Some people think that parents should be punished if their children commit crimes because they are responsible for their children's actions

I partly agree. In my opinion, it depends on the different situations of families. Parents affecting their children to break the law should take the responsibility for their kids, but if children are doing this not because of their family, then they need to take the result by themselves. The reason why parents should take responsibility for their children is that they are the role models for their children in the family. They could be the factors that influenced their kids as young individuals are not mature enough to have a self-conscious to think what things are correct. For example, if parents always show violence, drink alcohol, or even get drugs, this behaviours could easily give a negative effect on their children, and then they might think these bad habits are normal. Thus, they would do the same things as their parents. However, teenagers could still doing crimes even their elder family members have already been a role-model for their children. They may be affected by external influence. For instance, some young people who are over eighteen could live alone or with their friends since they have abilities to live without their family members. At that time, they may get in touch with other peers having bad habits or family background. Therefore, they could also try illegal things because they think it is cool. In conclusion, parents should be punished if their children commit crimes but not all of them should take the responsibility for their children. Some of the children should take this result by themselves because they are not affected by their parents.