Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

The majority of museums and historical places’ guests are tourists and just a few numbers of them are locals. In my opinion, this phenomenon is practically logical and there are several reasons behind this trend and governments can take certain measures to kindle locals to exhibit. To begin, without a shadow of a doubt, local people can find it boring to exhibit the historical places. In other words, they are already familiar with their culture and history and may have no more new things to discover by visiting the same museum repeatedly. For instance, if people who live in Paris have a good understanding of the history there, they will be prone to visit other city’s museums rather than the local one. Meanwhile, travellers’ ultimate purpose of travelling is being accustomed to the history of their destination and sightseeing, so they are the main visitors of the galleries and historical landmarks of any country. Hence, it can be claimed that it is normal for local people to have less interest in regional historical places and museums than visitors. There may be several ways to attract more local people to the historical places and museums such as making the surrounding area of these places more attractive. For example, authorities can build more gourmet restaurants, high-end fashion shops around the historical places in order to attract more domestic people. Moreover, there also should be some more discounts on fees. Thus, I believe that these places can attract numerous regional people with these new policies. To conclude, it seems logical that the main visitors of the museums and historical sites are tourists because of their desire to know about the past days and their plans to sightsee. There may be some actions to take, such as opening more conveniences in the vicinity of the monuments and entrance fee discounts of the museums to draw more local people to these places.