In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling in these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles will outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancements in technology brought about significant changes throughout the world including automobile companies which have successfully invented driverless cars and buses over the last decade that may even develop into automatic-driven vehicles of all kinds in the future. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages of this development while making a case for the dangers arising from self-driven automobiles until more safety measures are simultaneously developed. Firstly, automation can help to reduce the number of crashes on the road. A recent survey by the US Transport department identifies driver error as a factor in 94% of road accidents and that driverless vehicles reduced this error to a significant level. Moreover, self-driven vehicles access google maps, which not only reduces traffic congestion but also helps to avoid congested traffic routes which in turn reduces travel time and fuel consumption. All these improvements result in a major cost reduction for consumers. On the other hand, self-driven automobiles reduce the drivers' involvement and can lead to unemployment among them. Furthermore, in some geographical areas, due to connectivity issues, google maps may not be accessible and so, these autos experience a lot of errors, which risks the lives of passengers etc. Additionally, a major potential problem of such transportation is the possibility of hacking into digital parts. Automated cars communicate with each other as they would need to share the same network protocol. If a large number of cars are in the same network, even a small hack could wreak havoc and cause extensive damage on the roads. In conclusion, while the advancement in the auto industry with driverless rides has reduced the figure of mishaps on the road, there is still a possibility of multiple problems occurring as a consequence which could be disastrous. Until these problems are addressed and sorted out it will be irresponsible to completely change over from manually driven transportation to automatically driven ones.