 Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

People are divided in how road safety should be improved. Some believe that harsh punishment should be used, but some believe that other measure would be more effective. These two view has different interesting points that would be covered in this essay. First of all, strict punishment is important part of road safety law. For example, fines for a light offence and imprisonement for a heavier offence. Nobody likes being punished so when they do it would make them don't want to repeat the same mistake. As for another driver, they would driver more carefuly in fear of making a punishable offence. Another idea is enforcing traffic safety through a more subtle means. For example, encouraging vehicle to drive slower in a denser area by using signs. Another method is by reducing road width as people tend to drive slower in a narrow road, thus reducing the lethality of an accident. Adequate training for both driving skill and discipline would also make the road safer for everyone. In the end both method are important part of enforcing road safety. The two could be implemented side by side and should not be compared as they complement each other.