Some countries spend a lot of money on making it easier to use bicycles in cities, why? Is this the best way to solve traffic problems?

Nowadays, some nations encourage using bicycles in cities by spending a huge amount of money on them. There are several reasons behind this such as reducing traffic and air pollution. I believe that better infrastructure for cycling is one of the best solutions. To begin with, traffic and air pollution are one the major problems which lead to environmental and also mental issues regarding the greenhouse effect, noise pollution and stress. For example, a study conducted on a heavy traffic situation in the UK showed that people tend to be more stressed due to noise and traffic problems. Moreover, as citizens prefer using fewer vehicles, it is likely to reduce global warming and harmful emissions in the atmosphere as well. To tackle the potential risks of climate change, the increasing population who ride a bike rather than using private vehicles would be beneficial in the long term. In other words, if the infrastructure is developed for cycle paths, it can bring many advantages at the same time such as reducing car accidents, and air and noise pollution. In addition, biking is more budget-friendly than other transportation systems. For example, the Netherlands has well-developed paths for cyclists, therefore many citizens go to work or events by bike which solved intense traffic. To conclude, certain countries have been trying to invest in the usage of biking to minimalise obstacles regarding environmental and car crashes. In my opinion, it is a wise way to overcome dilemmas in cities.