Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in team sports, like football. While other people think that taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While many believe that playing sports in teams offers more benefits to the players, others argue that solo sports such as swimming grant people ideal chances to develop themselves. In my opinion, the latter draws my support. On the one hand, it is undeniably true that sports which are played in teams provide fertile ground for enhancing the sense of team spirit, building comradery and group empathy. To be more specific, only by making joint efforts can fellow players achieve a mutual goal such as winning a match or breaking a record. Take football as a typical example, it requires the cooperation of the whole team to score a goal against the opponent team. In addition, taking part in team sports opens up golden opportunities for humans to establish brand-new relationships with sportsmen from all over the globe. This, as a result, expands people’s social circles and develops their interpersonal skills, which is potentially advantageous for them in their work and daily life. On the other hand, I would side with the view that participation in individual sports is more beneficial when compared to team ones. Firstly, those who play solo sports can be able to reinforce their self-reliance and self-confidence. This might be explained by the fact that once entering a competition, they have no companions to rely on, both physically and mentally. For this reason, failure or success completely depends on their determination, which demands them to push ahead with their efforts and deliver better performance. Secondly, to play sports alone means that integral life skills including goal setting and emotional management are fostered. Indeed, countless hurdles on the way to success such as pains and losses only make players become tougher and more resilient than ever. In conclusion, whereas engaging in team sports carry certain strong points, I hold a belief that people would reap many more benefits from playing them individually.