Nowadays television and the Internet have a greater influence on children’s behavior than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are contrasting views as to who has a greater influence on a child’s behaviour in today’s time, whether it is the parent or the internet. As per my opinion, the internet ’s influence is unparalleled, but it cannot be compared to the magnitude of that of a parent, and this essay will explain why. A child imbibes right from when he/she can process basic cognition, mirrors the parent and sees the parents as a source of all gratification. They try to copy what the parents do. Further, not only do children spend every waking moment with their parents, but they also laugh with them, cry with them, and want them to caress them as they sleep. For instance, kids really love bedtime stories, partly because of a parent. Also, children learn all the basic values, ideas, and thought patterns from their parents. Moreover, the exposure to media and the internet is under the parent ’s control. So, what they watch and how much of it is under their scrutiny. The parent has substantial influence over what the children are exposed to. As a result, when someone argues that kids learn from the internet, it is the parent that has initially screened the content while deeming it appropriate for the child. However, it is true that a kid imbibes information from the internet and related media. For example, the astronomical rise of kids’ YouTube channel “Cocomelon” during the COVID pandemic tells us how a new blend of learning is being evolved, one that greatly emphasizes the importance of information available online. But, it cannot be compared to a parent ’s influence on a child from childhood till they come of age. To conclude, the internet has become a vast reservoir of knowledge, even for children, but the parent has the greatest influence on his development and behaviour.