Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that the prices of items should be increased which contain a high levels of sugar and other preservatives as they are harmful to health. I strongly agree with this idea as the prime reasons for rising health issues are the widespread availability of fast food and its cheap prices. To begin with, raising the prices of unhealthy products would decrease the ever-increasing health problems like obesity and cardiovascular risk factors. Moreover, due to the high sodium content in packaged food, many individuals are suffering from hypertension. For instance, an article published in ‘The Times’ stated that the rate of citizens with high blood pressure level up from 10% in 2010 to 20% in 2020, along with those middle-aged males from age 30 – 40 years are currently at high risk of heart attack. Secondly, expensive sugary products would ultimately benefit the government as people would give more taxes. This leads to higher revenue and the amount generated by this revenue should be spent on efforts to encourage to adopt healthier lifestyles and physical activity should be adopted. In addition to this, through combined efforts on the steps mentioned above, people can switch from packaged to homemade food. Although street food tastes exceptionally well with hiked-up rates, people are guided to prepare meals at home. Furthermore, meals at home are full of nutrition and preservative-free. For example, a recent study on the topic ‘Nutrition at Home’ suggests that citizens with regular intake of healthy preservative- free food are at lesser risk of heart attacks and other serious diseases. In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that packaged food items should be avoided at all costs because of the serious health concerns whereas these aforementioned steps taken can modify our lives and make it happy and fit.