Some people think that the best way to reduce crimes is to apply longer prison sentences, other people think that there are better methods of doing so. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is always an argument about how to reduce crimes. While some communities think applying longer prison sentences is the best way, I believe it could be an efficient way to reduce criminals but not the best method to stop people to break the law. Some people suggest longer prison sentences is the best to decrease people to commit crimes because it could change criminals ’ mind over a long period of time. For example, prisons usually have a disciplined schedule with a lot of work on it for prisoners. The density of activities and long hours of labour can grind their minds, which could let them become more peaceful than before. Thus, when they finished their sentences, they would not want to commit crimes again as that thought is erased when they were in jail. However, opponents think there are better methods to reduce crimes. Giving education to criminals could be one of the best ways because most criminals are uneducated. For instance, the reason why some criminals rob, steal or kidnap people is that they need to do it to survive as they do not have good conditions to find a job or live a decent life. As long as the government could make a school system for these people, they could obtain correct knowledge and get an occupation to have a stable income. Therefore, they would not have thoughts of committing crimes again since they have a better quality of life. In conclusion, I believe letting the authority set prisoners’ sentence longer could be a way to help crimes be reduced but it would not solve the root of the problem. Providing criminals with a long-term education could be the best way because it would erase the root of this issue.