In many countries, there are an increasing number of private cars. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, the demands of using private vehicles are exponentially increasing. This essay will elaborate the positive and negative impacts of the phenomenon and provide relevant evidence. There are two main benefits of using private transportation on a daily basis towards the economic sector and humans’ sense of convenience. To begin, since people who have their own transportation should pay its annual taxes, it can contribute to the economic revenue growth of the country. In other words, the more cars owned by the communities, the more taxes will be collected by the authority. For instance, my father should pay around a hundred rupiah per item every year, so it will increase the local income in terms of taxes. Secondly, this means of transportation will make people feel comfortable to go to some places, since they can commute easily using private cars without relying on public transport. Privately owned vehicles, on the other hand, might increase the congestion on the roads. In this circumstance, societies will use their own four-wheel vehicle to commute every day and eventually result in the increase of traffic jams. As an example, in Indonesia's capital city, Jakarta, people should experience traffic for hours every day on the way to their workplace. Additionally, it might increase the number of accidents because there are lots of vehicles on roads. Therefore, commuting by other modes of transport such as trains will be safer. In conclusion, although private vehicles might be advantageous due to the increase in GDP and individuals’ freedom to travel, people should consider the other effects such as the traffic jams and accidents caused by driving private transports.