Education of young people is highly prioritized in many countries. However, educating adults who cannot write or read is even more important and governments should spend more money on this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, what kind of people need to be educated is widely discussed. Some people assert that young adults like high school or college students should be taught in priority, whereas others believe that folks without enough literacy more needed to be trained. Personally, I am in favour of the former view because I believe youngsters represent the future of our nation and grownups lacking literary skills can still make a living by performing low-skilled tasks. On the one hand, the advancement of a nation depends on how the future generation is trained. This is because adolescents who are not yet exposed to society and do not have to worry about making a living, have plenty of time and possibilities to learn specialized skills. In other words, since candidates for professional work must spend a long time learning and receiving the right training, investing in youth education is a must in order to cultivate future professionals, for instance, doctors, nurses, and scientists. In addition, a well-trained workforce will also enable a wide range of businesses and industries to thrive, fostering international trade and forthcoming wealth growth. While people calling for adult teaching emphasize the importance of providing all citizens with some basic education, the benefits of adult education are quite limited. To illustrate, some grownups who are illiterate may simply work repeatedly at low-skilled jobs such as assembly line workers, yet they still receive an average income to cover their basic needs. Apart from that, adults may have missed the optimal time to study compared to younger students, simply because studying is time-consuming and adults may find it difficult to balance part-time study and full-time work well. Therefore, it is difficult for grownups to learn as effectively and efficiently as youngsters. In conclusion, I believe the government should place a higher priority on young teenagers' education than on adults who lack enough literacy skills. This is because a nation's progress requires advanced technology, and only those who have completed college can produce it.