Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Recently, some companies tend to seek private information about their potential employees by asking about, what they do at their leisure, their relationship status and what they enjoy doing the most. While some people are in favour of it due to the employment decision of the rightful candidate, others kicked against it as being biased. On the one hand, the idea of knowing a candidate's private details could seem beneficial for the company’s decision-making. Additionally, this could create an adaptable environment and social platform for getting to the potential worker. For instance, my friend and his lovely wife applied for a position and during the interview section, the recruiter realized they were a couple and have gained so much contribution in their previous job. With the specific details gathered from the interviewees, they got the job. On the other hand, some people believe that racism can cause misconceptions about why some questions can be irrelevant. Therefore, this permits the company to only recruit people of their race. More so, some types of jobs employ those who are single because they don’t want permission or unnecessary maternity leave. The manager feels that single-capable hands are more capable and more effective than married ones. For example, an experienced accountant friend of mine was not able to seek a profession in All Nations Firm because they got to find out that she is married with a 6-month-old baby. The firm doubted her competency if employed, because of the breastfeeding baby she has. To conclude, some employers could consider some vital information from their potential subordinates while these questions could cause negative repercussions; it could also be an opportunity for the company to make a swift and right decision based on competency.