Some people argued that history is of little or no use. Others believe that studying history give many benefits. Discuss those views and give your own opinion?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over history. While some claim that the history is inapplicable, the opposite makes a statement that learning history brings tremendous advantages. While the former is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, studying history gives a bunch of merits, especially understanding the identity of a country. Looking back at what fellow countrymen contributed to where people stand today. For example, Uncle Ho is a great person in Vietnam in regaining independence and building Vietnam by defeating France and America in the past. Hence, the younger generation clearly understands that freedom is exchanged by ancestors’ sacrifice. Therefore, the rich history helps people to be aware of their identity. While the redeeming features of history are widely acknowledged, in some certain aspects, there is no point in studying history. Although there have been a bunch of customs which had been common in the past, they are not suited to nowadays. For instance, there was a custom that women stayed at home only and men did breadwinner, which has been long gone. Moreover, in this day and age, there are successful women such as Hilary, who is able to run for the prestigious presidency like any others. Hence, some people hold that history plays an insignificant role in current life. In conclusion, studying history makes people perceive a wealth of advantages but in some cases, history is not useful enough to be applied in real life. In my opinion, it is necessary to be aware of history knowledge, especially the identity of nations.