Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

It has become increasingly common in recent years for cities to be inundated with cars and, consequently, increased levels of traffic. In my opinion, this is a very real phenomenon and governments could do more to encourage other modes of transport. There is little doubt that the main cause of traffic is more cars in urban areas. One natural consequence of a burgeoning global middle class is a rise in automobile ownership. This is reflected not only in statistics but also in the day-to-day reality of millions living in densely populated cities such as Los Angeles, Beijing, and London. The average person living in those cities must choose between sitting in traffic, using public transport, or residing near their workplace. There is little chance this pattern will change in the future as many people see owning a car as a sign of social status and a mark of success in life generally. Since most car owners will not be dissuaded by higher prices, the best method to combat traffic is to stimulate other kinds of transportation. Since most cities already possess public transportation in the form of buses and subways, governments can simply commit to maintaining and expanding existing options. A standout example of this would be the London Underground which has dozens of lines and is maintained to a high standard. Another pragmatic solution would be to encourage the use of bikes and motorbikes. Many European countries do this by providing free bicycles for short rides. In Southeast Asian countries such as Vietnam, urban planners provide lanes specifically for compact motorbikes where there is far less traffic than in the lanes for bulky cars. In conclusion, there is clear evidence that cities are more crowded than ever before and the state can curb this trend by enacting policies to promote bicycles and motorbikes in cities. This is a crucial reform not only for the quality of life but also for the environmental impact.