Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention in school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

School goers have been constantly facing difficulties to focus on classes and pay attention towards their studies which has created a severe impact on the career of students. Mindless scrolling on social media platforms and less interactive classes are the leading causes of this problem. However, this essay will provide solutions to mitigate this problem. It is quite evident that the attention span of humans has been on the constant decline since few decades. Effortless scrolling on social media platforms has taken a great toll on the human’s attention aspects. This mindless scrolling on the internet provides false gratification in the form of quick dopamine surges (motivational hormone) in the body which further impacts the focus to work on something useful. Similarly, the majority of school students have been seen to have declined attention span towards study and work. Delayed gratification is the process which has shown promising affects to mitigate this problem which dictates students must not use mobile phones until they have completed their study or work. In this way, children can reset their natural functioning to align with their study patterns. Furthermore, less interactive classes and grade driven studies also impact the attention of students. Today our education system works only around the theoretical parts and misses the practical aspects of the study which makes it less appealing. Therefore, students do not find it engaging and loose focus from study. In order to resolve this pattern, schools must focus on providing practical knowledge and making classes more engaging by encouraging the participation of students by coming up with different ideas to explore and learn the topics rather than just cramming them. Hence student’s engagement would promote the attention towards classes. In conclusion, the approach towards changing the lifestyle and providing effective learning experiences can be a benefiting factors in order to retain attention of students towards school.