In some countries, people encourage their children to get a job or to travel after their secondary education and before their university education. What are the advantages or disadvantages of doing so?

In some parts of the world, students fresh out of finishing secondary education are encouraged to be engaged in either doing a job or travelling before they step into higher education. This essay will discuss the benefits and demerits of this method on them. There are a few factors that one would obtain, by engaging in extracurricular activities before university life. Firstly, most students just after secondary school lack experience in society so, by engaging in jobs will provide them with new opportunities and experience. Furthermore, when they engage with eminent figures and innovative pedagogical methods in the respective fields that they are interested in, a summarized idea of the reality around their field and profession can be learned. While travelling, exposure to various communities, cultures and experiences will develop their social skills and arm them with new perspectives on life. On the other hand, although some students will be highly satisfied with working in an office, some may find it to be much more stressful and unfortunately, would give up on proceeding further education even before entering their university study. Then, it is a great loss to both society and the student’s life. Instead of being in a safe environment like home, when students start to travel with no sense of the dangers in society, they will end up in unpleasant conditions. For example, if they travel alone, they are more prone to get kidnapped or assaulted. How unfortunate is it to experience such hardship even before they step into higher levels of education? Overall, from the above-mentioned reasons, it is evident that unless we outweigh the benefits to risks, finding a common ground is hard about engaging in jobs or travelling before higher education for children who just finished junior school.