Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work. How do you think children should spend their free time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

No one wants to lose the game of life. It is so commonly believed that people can gain a high-paid job if they get high scores during their school time. So the parents take away the free time from children to make them work hard. I totally disagree with this idea and I will share my thoughts in this article. Ever since children get into elementary school, there is a scoreboard after each test in Taiwan. Through watching these statistics, parents will decide how much play time should they give to their offspring. Those with lower grades then be sent to a cram school at night until they can improve their grades. I think the parents do it all wrong. Firstly, humans are not perfect, people have their own strengths and weakness. It’s good that if we overcome them, but what if we can’t? Yes, this is why commercial was invented. We can collaborate with each other, we “sell” our expertise and “buy” those we don’t have. There is no need to excel at everything. Robbing free time from children and donating to a study that the children are not good at already isn’t clever. Secondly, schools are not perfect, we don’t teach everything in school. However, those parents use only the score to measure their kids with a standard of success. Those children have already lost chances to know what they are good at, and their parents insisted to take their free time away. This only makes their children lose their time to explore their interests. In conclusion, I believe children should have free time during their school day. We should encourage them to play hard and keep on exploring their interests. Those things they are really interested in, will become their expertise and contributed to our society.