Today more countries import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today more and more countries rely on importing food and product to stabilise their supply. In countries such as Japan and Singapore, where it is difficult to produce on their own, importing foods helps the country to stay sufficient. Despite that there are pros and cons in trade, I believe that exchange can create much massive advantage for us and I would like to prove it in this essay. Firstly, many are concerned about germs spreading via imported products. Trading products from other countries might have a chance to contain microbes that can harm human beings. For instance, during the covid-19 outbreak, experts in Korea stated that the many imported food from China was contaminated by the coronavirus. The government immediately aborted the influx from China but failed to prevent the spread. Since exchanging products will lead to contact with other countries, germs or microbes spreading is inevitable. Secondly, the benefit that trading brings is uncountable. It is common sense among many economists that trading among several countries will create more wealth. Bringing things that cannot be produced, such as crops that are hard to harvest due to the technology or that can be easily imported from other countries. For example, in Japan, basil can be hardly harvested, so many are brought from other countries. Without basil, Japanese people would not be able to cook dishes such as Italian cuisine and would degrade much Japanese quality of life. From this, it can be said that it is very important to have things that cannot be made in one place. To summarise, trading possesses both advantages and disadvantages. However, with the advantage given, I believe that exchanging foods will out-benefit us and this action should be done to prosper.