Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since ancient times, arts have been a crucial part of human life. But now as we progress towards advanced technology, many people argue that instead of wasting money by investing in arts the government should invest in the betterment of human beings. I completely disagree with this statement and believe that art has the capability to boost the country’s revenue and can help people stay happy. Admittedly, there are some people who think that the money used for arts can be spent on building hospitals, roads for transportation, schools and many more infrastructures. While building schools for better education can help the youth population and help them get a better life, investing in healthcare can provide citizens with affordable and better treatment. These public services are significant and can directly impact people ’s life. However, in my opinion, arts should also have equal importance in every society. It can attract more tourists which in turn can bring revenue to the country. Take Bali in Indonesia, for example, where the government spends more than half of their budget on preserving its traditional arts. Furthermore, art is essential for the well-being of people which can help them reduce stress and make them more creative. It can not only entertain people but also allow the artist to portray their side of the story. It gives the place a unique identity. In conclusion, although it is mandatory to have better public services, the benefits of the arts cannot be ignored as they can enhance the lives of the people around them and also contribute to the overall country’s economy.