Computers are now the basis of the modern world. They should therefore be introduced into classrooms, and their programs used for direct teaching purposes. However, dependence on computers in teaching may carry a certain degree of risk to students. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the industrial revolution, machines have been used in many different processes and activities, and the use of computers is not different. In the nineties, computers started to be seen as an important item to have in classrooms, since they provide quick information and different teaching approaches. With their growing use, many teaching possibilites start to apper, such as programs that would help the student to perform something that would take more time if done by hand. So it makes the tasks more efficient. The computers’ utilization can bring many benefits to a classroom, for example, the visualization of a drawing in a 3D form without the knowledge of how to draw. In my civil engineering studies, we used a program to draw houses, and this allowed us to do it quickly, in comparison to doing it by hand However, if the students use the programs in an automatic way, without thinking and reflecting about the reasons to do that, these machines can genarate a dependency. For example, the Excel program is commonly used to perform several math activities and to generate graphs. But, if the student doesn't learn the formula and how its works he will always depend of the programs. Also in my studies, I had to learn how a wood structure would react to severe winds, so, first, my professor tought us how to calculate it by hand, and after we started to use an program, to accelerate the math. This approach allowed us to learn how to calculate and after we reproduced that in the computer, using it in a good way. Therefore, the computers’ use for teaching purposes is very important, but with conscience. The teacher and the student must assure themselves that the computer is helping them to perform an activity and not doing by itself.