Some people believe that teaching music in schools is a vital part of growing up and human experience whilst others believe that teaching music in schools is a waste of time and resources

In schools, students learn how to analyse data, the grammar of a language and even the science behind biology but often students graduate with basic skills for a normal daily life. It is therefore argued that school should teach a variety of subjects where a student will be able to face the real world with a better understanding of how things work, for example, economy, politics, social skills. Although the education system is design to provide students with the basic knowledge of certain subjects, the main aim for schools must be about teach students skills to be used in the real world, for example, when a student is being taught mathematics, apart from learning how to multiply and divide, the student can learn how to solve problems through logic. Moreover, the shift in the ideology of education must not end there but also extending the syllabus, encompassing new subjects that could be more useful for the life after graduation, for instance, finances. However, these changes take time and can be costly, mainly because educators must be trained and a proper system to teach must be establish as well. To sum up, the current education system achieves to teach basic knowledge about mathematics and science but fails to prepare the student for the real world. Even though the process to change or adapt the education system is rough and expensive, adding finances education to the syllabus would be highly beneficial for both the student and the world.