Too many big cities in the world are increasing in size. What is the problem associated with it? What are the solutions

Metropolitan cities have been experiencing an upsurge in population throughout the world. Increased rate of crime and depletion of natural resources are the leading causes associated with the problem. This essay intends to discuss possible solutions to mitigate these problems. With the increased rate of migration of common people to big cities directly or indirectly promotes the rising criminal activities. As people with criminal intend are always looking for opportunities and can easily hide themselves under the umbrella of over crowded places. For instance, big cities with over population become natural target of criminals and it becomes very difficult to organise peace in these regions. However, to address this problem government can organise the cities by building organised structures and connectivity to properly disperse the employment population in the neighbouring cities. This will provide opportunities to people to travel and find work in different areas other than one big city. Second major problem has been faced by major cities is the depletion of natural resources. To fulfil the demand of basic necessities like water and food government has to provide the supplies from nearby regions which can deplete their reserves of natural resources too. For instance, to provide electricity to every house of Delhi government borrows electricity from neighbouring states and sometimes small cities are affected in this process. To mitigate this problem government must provide a limited supply of the resources so that no one can abuse the supply and every person gets equal proportion. Hence, maintain the equilibrium of nature. In conclusion, government needs to take specific steps to organise infrastructure and evenly disperse the population on the basis of economic activity.