Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using cars?

Over the past thirty years, the number of vehicles has increased dramatically in many cities which leads to traffic congestion issues. Therefore, I will give reasons and also solutions to discourage buying cars in the ensuing paragraphs. To begin with, there are numerous materialistic things and automation gives the status of living. People are buying branded automobiles to show off their status. Moreover, many multinational banks give loans at low-interest rates. Therefore, it is easy for middle-class families to buy automobiles. In addition, private vehicles are time-saving and also comfortable as compared to public transportation. For example, if people travelled 100 km by bus or train, it would take around 2 hours but people commute by their own vehicles which take around 1 hour. However, there are several solutions for decreased usage of own cars or motorcycles. Firstly, the bank should increase interest rates, so, folks think twist before purchasing cars. Secondly, the government should encourage citizens to use public transportation and invest a higher amount of money in them. For instance, in the UK 19% of the money is invested in public transportation, which is very convenient and time-saving because it has been built underground. So, traffic congestion issues have been solved. Thirdly, the government should also rise taxes on automobiles. Hence, younger can not afford higher taxes. In conclusion, owning vehicles is very convenient for comment whereas, but it also leads to traffic issues. Therefore, folks use their convertible when they travel far from the city and it is also decreased noise and co2 emissions to less use of private vehicles.