Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

With the rapid development of automobile manufacturing, the number of vehicles has significantly increased these days. Due to sufficient car provision, we can transport people and goods easily, but the traffic jam is getting worse. The aim of this essay is to explore the cause of car supply and elucidate some measures that government have to take. First of all, It is an undeniable fact that over several decades there seems a considerable increase in private vehicles along with free trade and the enhancement of technology in environmentally friendly cars. There are some profitable car companies in Korea, and we are willing to have agreements with other nations where there are no car production facilities, in return they could import their products to us such as agricultural goods. Through this process, we can easily export our cutting-edge cars everywhere. Besides, the recent advancement of eco-friendly motors such as hydrogen-fueled or electric-powered cars enables car manufacturers to produce as many as cars possible over three decades. These factors instigate people to have their own vehicles which ultimately leads to massive traffic volumes. If so, what should we do to prevent deteriorating our road conditions? Most of all, it is urgently requested that the government should enact a law so that people can no longer contribute to the worsening traffic situation. Additionally, the administration should provide public transport and facilities as much as possible so that people can take buses and subways anywhere. For example, there are many express trains in Seoul at the moment, and they have plans to supply more express tubes and even boats in the river. These efforts will lead to alleviating time and money on the roads which results in reducing social costs. On top of the efforts of municipal organizations, all citizens must join together by carpooling. To sum up, it is apparently evident that people feel comfortable due to the stable supply of cars. However, all roads are full of vehicles, so it reversely gives us an adverse effect. The government and all citizens should work together to improve our lives in order to pass down good life quality to the next generations.