Some feel that individuals should try to assimilate completely to the country where they live while others feel it is more important to preserve their native culture. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With the advent of rapid globalization, many people leave their countries and they want to mingle with new people in other countries. Some people argue we have to follow the rule of where we are willing to live, while others insist that sticking to our identities is imperative. The aim of this essay is to explore these two sides and elucidate my opinion in the following paragraphs. First of all, according to the old maxim, when we go to Rome, we have to do as the Romans do. In other words, it is substantially imperative that we have to obey other cultures and rules. However, there are some cases in which disobedient foreigners make others feel uncomfortable. For example, historically the USA received many immigrants from all over the world, but some stubborn American Muslims wanted to preserve their religions and cultures. Additionally, they did not respect women's rights to study, and forced girls to hide their bodies even in the US. These cases show us that keeping their own custom could destroy the sense of belonging. On the other hand, flexibility is one of the crucial virtues that we have to get in this diverse society. In other words, if we do not make diversify society, the strongest one would dominate everything which eventually leads to excluding minors. We can find this case in history a lot. For instance, there are many minorities in China but the government does not allow them to have their own identities. Instead of abanding their own traits, many small tribes are willing to fight against the communist party in order to gain their independence. We have to keep in mind that history teaches us how much flexibility is pivotal for us. To sum up, there seem to be various approaches whether keeping their identities or assimilating to other cultures. However, I firmly support that if we lose our own uniqueness, there is no diversity and globalization. Thus, I give my assent to the argument that we all have to uphold our own worlds, so that we can make our countries different.