Some people don't have the natural ability to learn languages. Some schools should force students to learn foreign languages. Agree or Disagree?

Most schools globally include learning a foreign language as a compulsory component of their curriculum. However, I do not believe that students should be forced to learn a foreign language since it will unnecessarily add to the already enormous pressure students are currently facing with their schoolwork. Admittedly, one important benefit a student can gain in learning new languages is that they can be exposed to new and diverse cultures. As language is a defining characteristic of a nation’s culture, students can acquire a deeper understanding of how the citizens of that nation typically communicate with each other and by extension how their society operates culturally. For example, by learning French, students can form an impression of the way the French conduct a typical conversation in their language. Once they are fluent in French, they can begin to understand the social fabric of the country and how the language helps to hold it together. However, the argument that students should not be compelled to learn foreign languages is decidedly stronger. The biggest reason for this is it greatly contributes to the already significant volume of schoolwork. Since students are often subjected to a hectic teaching curriculum with mounting homework and in-class assignments, the addition of a foreign language as a core subject may make it even more difficult for students to study effectively. Recently, the Vietnamese Ministry of Education attempted to incorporate English into the national curriculum for elementary students. However, it was met with backlash from parents as they complained that their children are already burdened with a heavy workload from other subjects. In conclusion, I would assert that students should not be compelled to learn a foreign language since it will add unnecessary pressure to the growing levels of schoolwork they are currently facing. Instead, it is advisable that schools should make it optional to learn foreign languages and students should be encouraged to do so, not made to do it against their will.