Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people agree that the prices of sugary drinks should be risen to encourage customers to consume less sugar. Personally, I totally disagree with this statement, my opinions will be discussed as the following reason. To begin with, increasing prices of sugar -based refreshments would not discourage people to drink them less if they have no concerns about the disadvantages of these products. I believe that health education should be taught more to make people have higher awareness of medical issues. If they learn that high blood glucose can lead to life-threatening problems and disabilities such as stroke, heart attack or leg amputation from Diabetic Mellitus (DM), or even death, they may continuously control their carbohydrate eating behaviours, and unhealthy sweetened potations may be less consumed eventually. In addition, high costs of living would affect to all of population if the authorities keep increasing the charges of merchandises in order to make people purchase less unhealthy products. I would argue that people should be supported more to ingest food that uses healthier sugar substitutes. A prime example of these alternatives is stevia which is a sugary plant and is free of calories and sugar. While the costs of living stay reasonable, alternative sweeteners could become wise choices for anyone who loves sweetness but prefers to be healthy. In conclusion, the consumption of high carbs diet can lead to major diseases, disabilities and death. I strongly believe that instead of increasing prices of sugar -based products, health education and availability of healthy substitute sweeteners should be promoted as imposing priorities which could help people to knowledgeably decrease their sugar intake.