Some people say that a special tax should be put on food and drinks with high levels of added sugar. Others disagree. Diacuss both views and give your own opinion

In a recent study, it was found that consumers of sugar -induced foods are more likely to have a positive mood on consumers due to a temporary boost of oxytocin hormones. The big food giants also claimed that offering high- sugar carbonated drinks in their combo meals caused increased sales in a given fiscal year. Meanwhile, the World Health Organisation warned that high sugar intake will lead to depression, diabetes and cardiac arrests. Hence, some policymakers are committed to reducing sugar dependencies through the implementation of the Sugar Bill in Congress, resulting in special duties for sugar manufacturers. Although, other sets of policymakers argued that, "Implementation of Sugar Bill is subjective and will disrupt food and beverage industries as a whole!". I disapprove of the implementation of the Sugar Bill as no such organic alternatives to sugar are available, and I will reveal both sides of the argument. The proponents of the Sugar Bill are funded by lobbies of Hemp industries, furthermore, they had lost the bid on the Berkshire farm deal from Cameroon Sugar Mill. They argue that, artificial sweetening agents should suffice as they do not have any sucrose content, requires less quantity compared to ordinary sugar, and consume less water as sugarcane has the highest water consumption as compared to any other crop. As of today, most food commodities primarily use sugar as a natural preservative and taste enhancer. Furthermore, there was no study nor market research done prior introduction of the Sugar Bill in Congress and additional taxes will only burden the income of sugarcane farmers. In our country, most people prefer bread in their meals, all the well-known artificial sweeteners are decomposed chemically at high temperatures which are not feasible in baking bread and cakes. To conclude, the study which was conducted by the WHO, also commented that a sedentary lifestyle is the primary cause of heart attack, depression and diabetes. Due to the loss of the farm deals, lobbyists of the Hemp industries who are proponents of such bills are biased and proper study was not made the prior introduction of the taxes in the Bill. Personally, I believe that, as of now tax should not be levied on the manufacture of sugar until further amendments are fulfilled in Congress.