A recent study showed people in developed countries are not as happy as they were before development. What are the causes of this and what are some possible solutions?

Looking into recent times as more countries are becoming highly developed, studies have been made stating that citizens are unhappy, compared to when their country was not developed. This essay will further discuss the causes for the decrease in happiness, as well as possible viable solutions. One of the first problems of developed regions is the pressure to be financially stable, despite the high taxes that lead to economic hardship. This makes people pursue careers that do not bring contentment but promise monetary stability, bringing security and prestige, but resulting in frustration. For instance, a friend of mine, John, always wanted to pursue photography but due to external invalidation and the high chance of not being well paid, made him seek an engineering course, that he did not like. Not only this, but most of the high-paying jobs demand several work hours and in other cases, individuals have to be involved in more than one job, leaving little to no time for family, friends and self-care. For example, a nurse that I know, that is also a single parent, has to do late night and long hour shifts, just to increase income to support her son, but has to give up on leisure time with him. A possible solution for people to choose careers that bring joy is for the school system to encourage students that it is best for them to like what they do and find interesting, instead of only thinking about performance, good grades and money. Another solution, but regarding the extensive schedule, would be for the government to plan financial resources in order to allocate fair wages and promote a maximum number of hours that a worker is allowed to do labour. To conclude, developed communities call for a great amount of finances, which causes stress about stability, but practical solutions can be made through school giving encouragement for children and teenagers to follow their passion, and government decisions changing with reference to salaries and time management.