Some people believe that government grants should be offered to people to encourage them to buy electric vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some argue that the government should invest more in helping people to purchase electric cars. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because there are more important fields the government should focus on and this view will encourage people to buy more cars than using public transport. On the one hand, investment in assisting people with buying electric vehicles by the government is unreasonable. Education systems, healthcare services and improving public transportation are essential to developing people ’s lifestyles. Additionally, electric services are expensive which puts a high pressure on the government ’s budget. For instance, Tesla is the only company in the world producing and specializing in the electric vehicles industry and one car costs 2 million dollars which makes it difficult for the authorities to offer these vehicles to their citizens. Hence, the government should concentrate on enhancing facilities to improve people ’s lives instead of wasting money on something unnecessary. I would argue that these grants will encourage more and more people to own private cars which lead to increased traffic congestion on roads. Recently, some countries already have similar problems with traffic jams and how commuting impacts negatively on drivers today such as pressure, stress, and reaching work late. Furthermore, electric vehicles need a huge amount of electricity and it releases 5% of carbon emissions. For example, electric cars cannot solve the problem of pollution completely and it is better to encourage people to use public transportation instead. In conclusion, although the government grants offer encouragement for people to buy electric cars instead of petrol cars which decreases the carbon footprint. I believe that this puts high pressure on countries’ budgets and they would not be enable to improve other essential facilities, as well as the number of possession private cars with increased significantly which causes problems with traffic congestion and stress for many people.