Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime rates are rising considerably in the last decade. While some people think that making longer jail sentences are the best way to decrease crime, others are condiering educating one's behaviour is the solution. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I stand with the latter group. On the one hand, the first group believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way. Knowing the consequences before doing the crime would deter a person from doing it. For example, a man who is trying to steal would think about the long jail sentence how it is going to effect his life in the future, therefore, this might prevent him from contiueing the action. If this way in not applied, burgelers burgers would continue to commit illegal acts because they would underestimate the short sentences. On the other hand, the latter group are suggesting other alternative solutions. They believe the main reason behind inceasing crime rate is unemployment. Criminals are committing illegal act because they are in need of money. Since there are no enough jobs, criminals would find other forms to gain an income, and this form could come in form of theft and shoplifting. The more unemployed people, the more criminals and higher crime rates. I would suggest giving credit for volunteer work would result in people volunteering and gainig personal and ethical skills in which way it would lower crimes. This way will give people who are willing to steal another way to have money, which is easier and does not effect their future life negatively. In conclusion, high crime rates is a serious problem that have to not be overlooked. Although setting loner prison sentences would parially effect, volunteering would be a more effective way since it solves the root problem.