With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed?

Some believe that the state-of-the-art research and developments in medical science should have led to the inrcease increased of healthcare standards on a global scale. However, unfortunately, this is not the case, especially, for the growing elderly demographic. The health system has failed to cater for older citizens so far and it is highly likely that society will manage this challenge in future. This essay will discuss the reasons for this failure and suggest feasible solutions. To start with, in recent years, we have witnessed a sharp increase in the number of fatal diseases ranging from viruses to cancer, which has mainly affected the most vulnerable – older members of our society. Regardless of the efforts, the health system has not been able to cope with the speed at which diseases proliferate. And regrettably, no scientific evidence exists proving that any efficient remedies will be created in the future which will help the older population to overcome illnesses. There are many reasons why society has failed to create efficient remedies to support the elderly and contribute to both – the prevention and treatment of different illnesses. Some of these reasons are the speed of spread, another is the lack of funding for medical research in geriatrics. Also, it is key to mention that most viruses that are incurable have been created artificially, in secret labs and therefore, it is time-consuming to find relevant cures for them. Finally, life expectancy has considerably in the past One of the evident solutions to support senior citizens would be to change regulations regarding their health care system. For example, governments can allocate a separate budget which will be solely spent on the needs of this particular demographic. Having sufficient funds will guarantee efficient support, cover expensive medical costs related to the treatment of senior citizens and hopefully, help them solve their health issues soon. Another suggestion would be to raise awareness of the needs of older generations through non-government organisations and encourage them to use their international funding and expertise to contribute to the social welfare of the elderly. One good example of such organisations could be the work implemented by the International Committee of the Red Cross, which tenaciously trains and recruits people who then contribute to responding to the needs of the elderly by providing medical treatments and screening, offering wellness and healthy ageing. What’s most important, the Red Cross then promotes their work and achievements thus inspiring more and more people to get involved in their activities. To conclude, even though there are some significant reasons that impede improving the health care for the elderly, society can solve the issues through increasing funding and developing social support systems.